What I Learned from Elsa

photopass_visiting_epcot_392766260556Note: This is not necessarily related to the election, but a post for encouragement.

Anyone that knows me knows I get highly emotional when I hear the song “Let it Go” from Frozen. The song is anthem of being oneself and freedom.

Recently, John and I got the opportunity to meet Anna and Elsa at the Royal Summerhus at Epcot’s Norway Pavilion. Anna was quirky and cute. It was very fun to meet her. Both Anna and Elsa were impeccable in their characterizations of the beloved characters. In the meet and greet, you meet Anna first. As we met with Anna, Elsa was patiently waiting. I, sadly, expected Anna to be the climax of the experience, with Elsa being a formality.

What happened next will forever be a cherished memory and will impact maybe the rest of my life.

epcot_frozencharc1_20161101_7847420060I approached Elsa and complimented her on her beautiful dress and she was pleasant. Then, I pointed at the picture of her ice palace behind her and said that I thought her ice palace was beautiful. Her response was, “Thank you. I had no idea what I was capable of.” I told her that I appreciated her song from the movie and how it allowed me to realize it’s okay to…and I started to weep uncontrollably. She finished my statement with, “that’s it’s okay to be yourself.” She told me it was okay to cry and then gave me a hug and allowed me to express my gratitude.

epcot_frozencharc1_20161101_7847420061The statement of “I had no idea what I was capable of” will forever resonate. It’s true. We are capable of so much and we may not even realize it. Like the song says:

It’s funny how some distance makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me can’t get to me at all
It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me
I’m free

Let it go, let it go
I am one with the wind and sky
Let it go, let it go
You’ll never see me cry
Here I stand and here I stay
Let the storm rage on

 

 

Leave a Reply

